Week 1 English 516

I’m a little behind, but I have some thoughts about the first week of class and the related readings.

I am kind of excited to be getting into the swing of blogging; the article we read (“Every Mad Scientist Needs a Tower, a Monster, and a Telegraph Wire”), and remembering class with Dr. Mueller is causing me to reconsider the possibilities afforded by participating in the blogosphere.   I am thinking that not only can I use it to do valuable networking with others in the same graduate program, or with the same interests, but that it would be useful as a storage device for articles and research related to my prospective thesis topics.   In theory (I don’t have a lot of experience with the mechanics of the blogosphere), having posts related to my thesis topic will help me develop a network of people and connections that will be immensely useful when researching and writing my thesis.  I have high hopes for this, though I realize at the same time that I have a lot to learn about blogging (major understatement alert).

I am also excited about doing the book review.  I am hoping the skills I learned in Multimedia Writing will prove of practical use when recording my book review.  I’m starting to be of the opinion that there should be more in the way of classes about using computer technologies required for getting an undergraduate degree.  My deficiencies in this area were painfully obvious.  There are several books that look very interesting, and several that are not up my alley.   Hopefully the final choices and dates are set soon, so I have ample time to prepare.  I’m sure that will be the case.  Honestly, reading through several of the descriptions has sparked an intense interest in The Shallows by Nicholas Carr.  However, there are several other interesting options.

Lastly, there is the “invent your own writing technology” assignment.  At first, I was completely at a loss as to what it was about, but further reflection has led me to what I consider a really good idea.  So, I have my technology and materials determined…but I have yet to decide what the 20 or so words are going to be.  I have some ideas though.  This is an interesting assignment and based on what’s been rolling around in my head, I think it will also be an illuminating one.

In all, this looks to be a busy semester, but with many important learning opportunities.

Leave a Reply

